Amy Lynne

Jumpier Than a Virgin at a Prison Rodeo

In 1 on February 3, 2010 at 7:37 pm

Oh, the excitement I felt when I stumbled on this book while browsing around on Amazon! It is called The Q Guide to The Golden Girls: Stuff You Didn’t Even Know You Wanted To Know…about Dorothy, Rose, Blanche, Sophia and the beloved sitcom.

My love of The Golden Girls goes way back to my junior-high days. I don’t recall what exactly possessed me to be watching the Lifetime network around that time, but somehow I became swept up in the crazy world of these senior citizens. For those of you who *gasp* don’t know about this awesome show, it is basically a show about four elderly women who live together in Miami Florida and the hysterical scenarios that ensue. It has also been off the air since 1992, when I was 1o..so it’s fair to say I discovered this series a little late and that I was likely not in the demographic for it. But I digress.

I am not ashamed to admit that I was (and still am) obsessed with this show. Back in the day, Lifetime used to run it from 6-7 pm and again from 11pm-12am. My homework and studies were put off for that hour, and I made it a point to try and stay up for at least the first episode in the later time slot. I was known to quote the show and challenge others to GG trivia!  Sadly, the later slot disappeared. And then the 6-7 time got the boot to an even earlier time. By this point I was much older and working so I missed getting my “Girls” fix altogether. Fortunately for me, it now airs on WE tv and I can happily watch it again every day. And if I do miss an episode, no worries…I can go to my DVDs. ( I only own seasons 2 and 3, however…gift ideas anyone?).

This show just makes me so happy. I can just watch and laugh. I  don’t have too think to much. It doesn’t often deal with serious issues. It’s just pure enjoyment. How can you NOT love a show with lines like this:

**Sophia: I need the money for my old age

Dorothy: Old age? You don’t leave fingerprints anymore!

**Blanche: I do love the rain so. It reminds me of my first kiss.

Dorothy: Ah, your first kiss was in the rain?

Blanche: No, it was in the shower.

**Blanche: I’m jumpier than a virgin at a prison rodeo

Dorothy: That’s pretty jumpy.

I could go on and on with hilarious lines, but I will spare you! I will always love me some Betty, Bea, and Rue. Do yourself a favor, and watch an episode.You know you want to….

Leave a Reply

C'EST LA VIE

Journeys of a solo wanderer

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

Shelf Life

Book news, reviews, trends, and talk

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

This corner belongs to me.

Hello, Queensland!

love the place you live

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

"I don't know myself sometimes & when it gets to Sunday the cloudiness starts all over again."

FFFFOUND! / EVERYONE

"I don't know myself sometimes & when it gets to Sunday the cloudiness starts all over again."

Ma petite theiere

"I don't know myself sometimes & when it gets to Sunday the cloudiness starts all over again."

A Fanciful Twist

"I don't know myself sometimes & when it gets to Sunday the cloudiness starts all over again."

"I don't know myself sometimes & when it gets to Sunday the cloudiness starts all over again."

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

