Amy Lynne

all possibilites exist at once

In Uncategorized on April 24, 2011 at 8:41 pm

It has been a long time since I have read Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall. The book itself was actually pretty decent, considering it really did make me stop & think about life several times. Which is quite a feat for many YA books (yes, I am 28 & I enjoy reading YA from time to time, thank you very much).

There was one part of the book that really stuck out for me. I recently came across it again in my Quotes & Lyrics Journal that I keep (yes, another nerdy thing I readily admit to doing). It obviously stood out for me at the time I read the book, but for some reason it had even more of an impact when I reread it in the past week. So, here it is:

It amazes me how easy it is for things to change, how it is to start off down the same road you always take and wind up somewhere new. Just one false step, one pause, one detour, and you end up with new friends, a bad reputation or a boyfriend or a breakup. It’s never occurred to me before; I’ve never been able to see it. And it makes me feel, weirdly, like maybe all of these different possibilites exist at the same time, like each moment we live has a thousand other moments layered underneath it that look different.”

When I was younger I used to read my horoscope all the time. I took the words to heart. Believed it would come true as written.  I’ve been know to say “everything happens for a reason”, both to assure myself & others. I believed that things were meant to be. Soul mates. Fate. Destiny. Signs in the stars. Yup, I was a sucker for all of those things. I’m not quite sure when it changed for me, but it did. I no longer believe in those concepts, at least in  the way I used to. Don’t get me wrong, I wish it were true & everything in life was so simple; if it is meant to be, it will be. And perhaps there is a chance that is true. Who am I to say? But my life experiences have taught me otherwise.

I still read my horoscope, just for kicks. And yes, there are times it is almost dead on (but usually about the bad stuff so I try to avoid reading them…I may not believe in them, but I DO believe in the power of persuasion). I enjoy reading books or seeing movies about two people being brought together by fate & falling desperately & passionately in love…soul mates for eternity. Its a sweet thing to imagine. But I just don’t believe that any of those things were predestined to happen.

 I think that life is made up of random events. You can take any one of them & twist & turn it so many ways to create  numerous outcomes… “Just one false step, one pause, one detour..”  & everything as you know it could end up differently. I believe that we all have a choice in any situation. The choice you make may turn out to be right or wrong…good or bad. It’s all a game of chance. No one can predict the future. The pause or false step you make may separate you from your old friends, but you will likely make new friends that will mean just as much to you. You may have untrue (or maybe true) things spoken about you, but you & those who love you will always know the truth. A relationship may end & it will be a difficult thing, but it doesn’t mean that someone else won’t come along to make you happy; chances are, someone will.

There are so many possibilities in life. If you take the view that everything will fall into place with no effort on your part, that if it’s meant to be it will simply happen, life will likely pass you by in an unhappy haze. You make your own happiness. You have to create it. Good things just won’t fall ino your lap. Yet, you can’t dwell on every small decision either. Surely there is a butterfly effect to every choice made. But you can only surmise what will happen so far down in that chain of events. Life is unpredictable. You can’t control the choices that others make that may collide onto your path. All we can do is try to stay on the path, take a chance on a detour from time to time, accept that we will make false steps, & see where life & all its possibilities take us.

And really, aren’t the adventures & unknowns in life what make it so amazing?

Leave a Reply

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

Sarah Blank Studios

"I don't know myself sometimes & when it gets to Sunday the cloudiness starts all over again."

FFFFOUND! / EVERYONE

"I don't know myself sometimes & when it gets to Sunday the cloudiness starts all over again."

Ma petite theiere

"I don't know myself sometimes & when it gets to Sunday the cloudiness starts all over again."

A Fanciful Twist

"I don't know myself sometimes & when it gets to Sunday the cloudiness starts all over again."

Black*Eiffel

"I don't know myself sometimes & when it gets to Sunday the cloudiness starts all over again."

